Region of Western Macedonia


ZEP Area


The Region of Western Macedonia is situated in the North – Western part of Greece. The Regional Authority of the Region of Western Macedonia is a large public Organisation of Local Government and one of the 13 Greek Regional Authorities. It is based in Kozani, which is the capital city of the Region with 70.000 inhabitants. It employs a permanent staff of more than 620 people which is divided into four regional units: Florina, Grevena, Kastoria and Kozani.

The Regional Authority is under the supervision and direction of the Regional Governor of Western Macedonia. Along with the other EU project related bodies of Western Macedonia (RDF, Managing Authority) they manage since 2000 ESRF and ESF structural funds and all European Projects. The Regional Authority is the main strategic stakeholder in Western Macedonia responsible for all structural funds policy tools (ROP 2014-2020).