University of Vlora “Ismail Qemali”


Sheshi “Pavarësia”, Rruga “Kosova”


University “Ismail Qemali” Vlore opened on 10 October 1994 with the Decision of the Council of Ministers, no. 105, dated on 28.02.1994. Initially the University opened its doors to students as Technological University of Vlore “Ismail Qemali” based on three faculties – the Faculty of Commerce, the Faculty of Marine Engineering and the Faculty of Nursing.

The selection of these faculties were made based on the tradition that already existed in Vlore for some of these disciplines. In 1919 in Vlore opened the Secondary School of Commerce, one of the country’s best schools at that time. During the 1970s and 1980s, a branch of the University of Tirana was opened for the Economy, Naval University and the Medical High School, which in many aspects served as a foundation for the establishment of faculties of the University of Vlore.

For of all the preparative work organized for the establishment of the University was created a working group, directed by Dr. Sezai Bazaj, who was appointed Rector of this new institution by the opening of the University. In 1998, Dr. Bilal Shkurtaj (today Prof. Dr.), was named Rector, elected by the Senate for two mandates. In the elections of 2008, Prof. Dr. Tanush Shaska was elected Rector of the University of Vlore, who gave his contribution until 2010. In 2010, Prof. Dr. Albert Qarri was elected Rector of the University of Vlore. In 2016 and ongoing Prof. Dr. Dr. Roland Zisi was elected Rector of the University “Ismail Qemali” Vlore.

During the 20 year period of its existence, University “Ismail Qemali” Vlore has made a serious and continuous effort to raise the level of teaching and research activity. The University started working in two buildings that were reconstructed (now the Rectorate and B’s buildings) with 162 students in all four of its branches and only 10 full time pedagogues. Now the University of Vlore counts 17 departments with over 10000 students at three levels of study. More than 4000 students have graduated up to now.

The university has started with two doctors of science, while today there are 6 Professors, 27 Associate Professors and 74 Doctors, 2 Docent and 102 MSc / SPA / ME / MAB / Magister.